31 Days of Renfield: Day 27

“Emily, one of the young actresses who plays the undead child, is seven years old and knows latin! During last night’s show we were backstage reviewing her latin flash cards. I learned a bunch. “Porto” means “I carry” and one of it’s derivatives is portable. “Unda” means “wave” and one of it’s derivatives is undulate. I was also informed that redundant comes from unda because it repeats like the waves crashing on the shore. This lesson was very helpful especially since Renfield speaks some latin in the show. I say “Mea Culpa, Mea culpa, Mea maxima culpa.” I didn’t need a seven year old to tell me what that means. But i did need her to tell me that “vale” is how you say goodbye”.

Leave a Reply

