The graphic life

Oh geez, I have to follow Kristen Perry.

Well hello everybody!

My name’s John Bowhers, and I was granted the opportunity to act as Actors Theatre’s Summer Intern in Graphic Design. This two-month whirlwind experience had me doing everything from revamping elevator signs (that’s right) to framing and hanging posters around the city to creating a full-blown marketing campaign with my partner-in-crime, Kristen. Needless to say, it’s been quite a trip. I’ll be returning this fall to sunny Winston-Salem, North Carolina (cigarette capital of lets say, the world?) for my Junior year at the University of North Carolina School of the Arts, but before that, it’s back to my hometown of Virginia Beach (the one in Virginia) for some surf and severe sunburn.

All that glamour aside, it’s an undeniable truth that I’ll miss good ol’ Louisville. I have to admit that in this short period of time, this city has begun to feel like a second home. (don’t tell Virginia, she’s a bit of a jealous type) When I first came to Louisville, it was a bit intimidating, but the friendly locals and great atmosphere set in quick, and I began to explore. When the clock struck five here at Actors, it was adventure time, and my nights were spent getting to know this place like it was my job. (Sorry Actors, I’ve been moonlighting with your city.)

I’ve come to GREATLY appreciate the local food and fun that the city has to offer. To show my love, I’m going to give a quick shout-out to five of my favorite local establishments and the delicious delights the have to offer.

5. Ramsi’s Cafe on the World-Bardstown Rd.

Check out Ramsi’s American Melt, it’s a tasty, grass-feed all beef burger between two thick slices of (sourdough?) bread, melted to perfection, goes great with a lighter summer beer.

4. Quill’s Coffee-Bardstown Rd.

Awesome. Awesome. Awesome. Iced Americano.

3. Conez and Coneyz-Frankfort Ave.

For this guy, I’ve gotta give recognition to both a fantastic cone and a fantastic coney.

The Chicago Dog if you’re looking for a hot dog with a little kick, and the Scouts Honor, a Thin-Mint based ice cream to cool you back down.

2. Shiraz-Frankfort Ave.

Dang skippy Mediterranean food. The panini is super-tasty.

And last but best.

1. The Homemade Pie and Ice Cream Kitchen.

I’ve been there so much, they know me by name. And to be totally honest, I don’t have a favorite, cause it’s all good. But ask about the Cookie Monster…it’s funny.

All-in-all, Louisville’s been good to me. Like a caring second Mother. (Just don’t tell my Mom, she’s a bit of a jealous type.) I’d like to thank Actors for the great time they showed me, and I hope all of our readers will make it out for what looks to be a phenomenal season. Thanks for reading, enjoy the rest of the summer!

-John

Leave a Reply

