Donald Margulies on Shipwrecked! An Entertainment

shipwrecked_designernotebook-11My aim with Shipwrecked! was to capture the attention of the hidden child in everyone in my audience. I wanted to write a play that would make no attempt to replicate onstage what television and movies do but would instead celebrate the uniqueness of theater. My impulse was to strip away the trappings of spectacle and get back to what theater does best: tell stories that reflect our world or create new ones that can enlighten, amuse, transport, make you forget, or force you to remember.

I set out to tell a ripping good yarn, the sort of narrative that captivated me when I was a boy, that I think enthralled all of us. For my subject, I was drawn to a story about the very nature of storytelling….

Read the rest of Donald Margulies’ note about Shipwrecked! An Entertainment on ActorsTheatre.org

Leave a Reply

