The A/I Company Derby Report

Two days since the 134th running of the Kentucky Derby. Here are some of the things that the cast and artistic team of “Cruising the Divide” did on the biggest Louisville holiday of the year.

J: i went to the infield at derby and had a great time! i sat in the family section, took in the races, laid in the sun, walked around to explore, made some bets, and hit a trifecta on the 5th race!!! granted i lost a lot of that on the derby itself, but it was awesome. it was my first time at a horse race, and in spite of the tragedy of eight belles which moved me very much, i am now definitely a horse racing fan! going to try to see the belmont.

Ashley: At 6 PM on Saturday May 4th, Brandie and I drove up West Broadway, filming all the while. There were tons of police cars, usually in clumps of 3-4 to a block, arresting people for no apparent reason. There were many vendors and barbecue grills up and down the sidewalks, and lots of people out walking, but they all seemed pretty down and not feeling too festive. We went to Lee’s Chicken and talked to Marilyn for a bit, who sat at a booth with her chin in her hand, just looking out the window and scowling as police officers came in to use her bathroom and leave without buying any food. Lee’s ended up closing early because business was so poor.

Sarah: I worked as a cater(sp?) waiter on the evening before and Derby itself. I think the most interesting thing about it was the old fashioned way in which people were dressed. It wasn’t just the hats, it was like everything else went along with it too. Like they were presenting an homage to another time in which class privilege was even more evident than now.

Emily: I walked to Cherokee Park, it was beautiful and quiet. Later I went to
a Derby party and ate wonderful food and was surrounded by fast
talking friendly wealthy people. I put five dollars in a bucket and
randomly chose horse number thirteen. He was in the lead at the
beginning of the race, and I was very excited then he totally lost. I
felt sad for the horse that died.

Nick: I worked at the Brown Hotel on Fourth. Buffet server for a private party, some oil company. The 3rd best female golfer was there. YAY! They did not tip. once in a life time shift

Teresa: I went to the infield in between the 1st and 2nd turn.
It was very exciting bc we had a great view of the
horses during the races. Later, Brandie took me
driving through the West End, and there was a huge
police presence and half of Broadway shut down. We
went over to Bardstown Rd, and we didn’t see any
police, but a few concerts and people out on the
streets.

Cheyenne: I checked out the free concerts at 4th St Live and watched the Pegasis parade. Saturday, I watched the races on TV and went cruising for a while that night.

Chris: I went to a party at a man named Fred’s house, with Yuko and Emily. I talked with Jack Norris about cruising there.

TJ: I went to the infield. It was crazy. Titties bitches and lots of ass. Wild. It was all sex drugs and rock n roll. Incredible. Sex was in the air. Dope. Weed and booze and titties. Hottness.

Elizabeth: I got my hair cut and dyed, complete with highlights from Z Salon. I then bought a black and white oversized Derby Hat at J.J. Wig shop. I returned home with a bottle of Brandy, made myself a cocktail and headed to the infield. There, I laid out on the Green in the Family section with fellow acting apprentices and sipped a Mint Julip. I could not finish it. I then returned home, and went Derby Cruising on Broadway and witnessed the deliberate violation of the constitution: Cops were arresting citizens without reading them their rights, searching their vehicles with no probable cause, and prohibiting them from exercising their right to assemble, as incorporated by the 14th Amendment of the United States Constitution. It was a day of luxury, exhilaration, and sadness. A very powerful experience.

Dara: I kicked of the Derby with Thunder over Louisville, spent time at the waterfront attending Fest-a-ville and concerts, and spent Derby Day in the infield!

So, there you have it, in their own words. As for myself, I worked as a bartender in a private room at Churchill downs. It was an open bar in a big money room. There was a $50 minimum on all bets. I can tell you, first hand, that the drinking at derby time is not at all limited to the infield or grandstand. Those high rollers were throwing them back at an amazing rate. Also, it should be noted that Maker’s Mark was in much higher demand than Woodford Reserve, and Bud Light was the beer of choice.

-Bing

Blog Feature
Apprentice Bing Putney Blogs about the Derby Cruising Project

How the Project is Shaping Up
Some Photos from Behind the Scenes
The A/I Company Derby Report

Act One
Full Run!
Moving into the Space

More Information About Cruising the Divide

Leave a Reply

