Posts from the Edge: Christened, a lady

hedwig_small.jpg

Bangs! (noun): A sudden, brief explosion that gave birth to the universe (big); a grouping of hairs whose function and form is to cover or accentuate the brow region on a woman; a salon in downtown Louisville; the nexus of my Ladydome.

Yes, I had my eyebrows waxed for the first time in preparation for Becoming Hedwig. At
“Bangs!” salon in downtown Louisville. The pressing and ripping done at 8:45AM. At coffee afterwards I thought the Barijsta called me “Ma’am” while handing me my large iced red eye with soymilk. I misheard (I hadn’t had my coffee yet). No, not that much a lady. Not yet.

Then a photo shoot for publicity stills or something or other. Would I look like a frat boy in a dress? No, with relief the digital read-out showed almost a lady.

Too much a lady and it’s not Hedwig afterall. But still, I’d like to be approaching something pretty.

This is acting technique.

photo care of Gary Quick

2 Responses

  1. “I’d like to be approaching something pretty.”

    If I had a nickel for every time I said this while performing morning ablutions…
    (Welcome to Girl World.)

  2. Sweet, I go to Bangs as well. Margo/David is the only queen I would ever let touch my luscious locks. Enjoyed the hell out of the show on Tuesday. Thanks for coming to Looseville and spreading a little Hedwig happiness.

    Smooches,
    Dan

Leave a Reply

